Sean Scoil

Sean Scoil

Scoil Mhuire B was opened in 1974. Liam Ó Foghlú was its first principal. The children moved from the Sean Scoil which was approximately a hundred metres from the site of the present school. The Sean Scoil was originally two schools. The boys’ school had a male principal and the girls’ school had a female principal until 1970 when the two schools were amalgamated under one principal.  The new building was designed by the architect Mr. Roche, Tralee and the contractor was Boyle Brothers Ltd. Killorglin. The school was blessed and opened by the Very Rev. Canon John Murphy.  The building itself is ‘H’ shaped and has a flat roof.  The number of children that attended the school in 1974 was very large so the Sean Scoil was used for some classes. Two other parish schools were amalgamated with Scoil Mhuire- Dungeel National School in January 1975 and Glencuttane National School in July 1976.  The original building consisted of ten classrooms. Additional classrooms as well as a gym and stage were added in 1984.  The grounds of the school adjoin the local Catholic church.  The school is a Catholic school.  All children of different ethnic origins and religions are welcome to attend the school.  At the moment there are in excess of 20 Newcomers who hail from Poland, Lithuania, China and Estonia.

The principals of the school since 1974

Liam Ó Foghlú                        1974-1978

Micheál Ó Scanláin                1978-1986

Diarmuid Ó Conbhaí               1986-2006

Tomás Ó Colgáin                    2006-2011

Muireann Seoighe                   2012 – present